top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachael Page

On top of the world, living and working from a Campervan

Updated: Jan 20, 2021

Living and working location independent in a campervan... The perfect freelancing digital nomad life.





One of the worst things about a normal life is working in an office with a horrible manager who loves to make your life a misery. Right now I'm lying in a hammock strung between two trees next to a beautiful lake and I can hardly hear anything but nature around me.


For the past six months I was working for a small digital agency in Berlin, Germany. At first everything seemed fine, that was until 5 months and one week later they told me that they would be extending my 6-months probation to 12-months - completely unlawful however that's another story and I don't want to concentrate on that here, suffice to say I don't think I will ever work in a normal job again, after years of disappointments, I'm absolutely, completely and utterly done with it and those kind of ego- driven managers who have no clue how to manage creatives.


Here's my camp right now...




Last night's sunset...




And I woke up just after dawn to a still lake view from my cosy bed


So now I'm going to set up my own agency, building websites for small and medium-sized businesses. Things like restaurants, online shops, artists and musicians.


I'll also be concentrating on becoming fluent in German and I'm doing a Domestika illustration course at the same time



In the course you choose a theme, the teacher chooses the beautiful and flora and fauna of Colombia. Then she makes sketches. Most of the sketches she does are not particularly fantastic however then she uses Adobe capture on a on a mobile phone to translate the sketches into vectors. She then colours the sketches and turns some of the things like leaves and flowers into brushes on illustrator.


I'm choosing the theme of waves and water because websites, online communication and marketing are all about amplifying the message, and waves of all kinds spread out - like when you drop a pebble into a lake.


Better things are coming and I'm pleased to be back 'on the road' with great plans to build my own agency website and build websites for people remotely. I've always hated commuting and working in offices and working from home will suit our lifestyle perfectly when we buy our country property so there'll be no 2 hour return commute.


After note, my new agency is called Wave Web Design and it at https://waveweb.design.

23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page